Our Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board supports the work of the Executive Board and is a key advisor with regard to our strategic direction and growth.

Hilko Schomerus
Member of the Advisory Board

Hilko is Managing Director of Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets in Germany (MIRA). Hilko is passionate about the outdoors and – having seen the impact of the fast-growing DofE Award in the Czech Republic – is keen on supporting a similar growth in Germany for the benefit of as many students from disadvantaged backgrounds as possible.

Alexander Graf Lambsdorff
Member of the Advisory Board

Since 2017, Alexander is a Member of the German Bundestag and Deputy Chairman of the FDP-fraction. Alexander is responsible for Foreign, Security, European and Development Politics. From 2004 to 2017 he was a Member of the European Parliament. Among many other positions with Non-Profit Organizations, Alexander is a founding member of the German-Turkish Foundation and a Member of the Board of Trustees of Friedrich Naumann Foundation.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Ischinger
Member of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr Barbara Ischinger headed the OECD Directorate for Education and Skills in Paris from 2006 to 2014. Previously, she was Vice President for International Relations and Public Affairs at Humboldt University in Berlin, Director of the German-American Fulbright Commission and Director at UNESCO. Prof. Ischinger is a member of several supervisory boards, including the University of Geneva and the Natural History Museum Berlin. She is also a member of the Board of Trustees of the Forum Thomanum in Leipzig. Barbara was Managing Director a.i. of the Fulbright Commission from 2020 to 2022.

Marianne Esser
Member of the Advisory Board

Marianne is a former teacher for students with special needs. Since 2000, Marianne has founded numerous cultural and educational projects supporting young people in and outside of schools. Marianne’s passion is ensuring the best possible development of children and young people. She is also a supporter of the Arts and is a member of various supervisory boards, among them Bürgerstiftung Berlin.

Unser Beirat

Unser Beirat unterstützt die Arbeit des Vorstands und ist maßgeblicher Ratgeber in Hinblick auf unsere strategische Ausrichtung und unser Wachstum.

Hilko Schomerus
Mitglied des Beirats

Hilko Schomerus leitet als Managing Director die Fondsgesellschaft Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets (MIRA) in Deutschland. Sein Engagement für den Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award in Deutschland entspringt nicht zuletzt seiner persönlichen Leidenschaft für Outdoor-Aktivitäten und seinem Wunsch, möglichst viele junge Menschen bei der Entdeckung ihrer persönlichen Leidenschaft zu unterstützen.

Alexander Graf Lambsdorff
Mitglied des Beirats

Alexander Graf Lambsdorff ist seit Herbst 2017 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der FDP-Fraktion mit Zuständigkeit für Außen-, Sicherheits-, Europa- und Entwicklungspolitik. Von 2004 bis 2017 war er Europaabgeordneter und seit 2014 Vizepräsident des Europäischen Parlaments für Demokratie und Menschenrechte. Alexander Graf Lambsdorff ist unter anderem Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der Friedrich Naumann Stiftung.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Ischinger
Mitglied des Beirats

Prof. Dr. Barbara Ischinger leitete von 2006 bis 2014 die OECD-Direktion für Bildungswesen und Kompetenzen in Paris. Zuvor war sie Vizepräsidentin für Internationale Beziehungen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Direktorin der deutsch-amerikanischen Fulbright-Kommission und Direktorin bei der UNESCO. Prof. Ischinger ist Mitglied mehrerer Aufsichtsräte, unter anderem der Universität Genf und des Naturhistorischen Museums Berlin. Sie gehört auch dem Kuratorium des Forum Thomanum in Leipzig an. Zur Zeit ist sie Managing Director a.i. der Fulbright-Kommission.

Marianne Esser
Mitglied des Beirats

Marianne Esser war bis 2000 Sonderpädagogin für Schüler*innen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen. Seitdem hat Marianne Esser zahlreiche kulturelle Projekte ins Leben gerufen, mit dem Ziel, junge Menschen innerhalb und außerhalb des schulischen Umfelds besonders zu fördern. Ihr Herzensanliegen ist die bestmögliche Entfaltung junger Menschen. Marianne Esser ist unter anderem Mitglied des Kuratoriums der Bürgerstiftung Berlin.